Allegory Of Death – My Poem!

Hi, everyone! I just composed a poem, for an activity in school, and I liked it so I thought I’d upload it here, for everyone to see. It’s the first good poem I’ve made, as far as I remember. I hope you’ll like it.

Allegory Of Death

The spirit stood in front of me

Reciting allegory

He held with him my life, my fate,

Knew all my loves, my life, my hates.

He held me in iron bands;

Unable to move, anxious, I stood wringing my hands

Answer his riddles I should,

Or else my life end, it would.

Of the answer I searched, I thought

Despairing over what I had wrought.

Suddenly I knew what to say

From misery I had found a way.

I spoke, waited,

My breath baited.

He smiled, raised his arms

I was released; I thought he meant no harm.

I walked, slowly, ahead

Suddenly, a blade appeared, me it did behead.

In my last moments I thought of my life,

I thought, what was the meaning of all this strife?

Leave a Reply

